02
Dec
11

Focusing on Jesus

It can be easy to be negative. One trick I’ve learned when getting annoyed with someone for something is to turn my criticism back on myself. Is there something I do similar to what I’m frustrated with them for?

And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? – Matthew 7:3

It is helpful as it focuses me on something I can make a difference about, myself, and brings feelings of sympathy toward the other person.

Though helpful, it ultimately is still focusing on the negative. Today it occurred to me how I can go one better. When I’m confronted with deficiencies, mine or others, instead I turn my thoughts to how Jesus is not like that. I remember his attitude toward my failings and others.

Then my attention is focused on hope rather than faults. When I’ve considered others wrongly I am drawn to care for them as Christ has. And though I know I fail I am reminded of how Christ can overcome these failings in me.

Christ has pledged Himself to be our substitute and surety, and He neglects no one. He who could not see human beings exposed to eternal ruin without pouring out His soul unto death in their behalf, will look with pity and compassion upon every soul who realizes that he cannot save himself.
He will look upon no trembling suppliant without raising him up. He who through His own atonement provided for man an infinite fund of moral power, will not fail to employ this power in our behalf. We may take our sins and sorrows to His feet; for He loves us. His every look and word invites our confidence. He will shape and mold our characters according to His own will.

In the whole Satanic force there is not power to overcome one soul who in simple trust casts himself on Christ. “He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might He increaseth strength.” Isaiah 40:29. – Christ’s Object Lessons 157

0 Responses to “Focusing on Jesus”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 814 other followers


