16
Jan
11

To Be Served

I just listened to David Asscherick’s closing sermon from GYC 2010. The message struck to the very heart of what I need. I have considered myself only a servant of Christ. Expecting an exchange for my effort,. but it is not to be so. We gain because of who God is and what He has done for us. Nothing is of us. We are sons of God. All that He has is ours. And to each the same is given who come to him.

After listening it came to my mind that when Jesus washed the feet of his disciples, the verse “For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.” (John 13:15)  Christ, as the master, became the servant. Only then does He call them to do likewise. And if they had refused his service they would have no part with Him. We must let Christ be our servant as well. If we do desire to be a servant to Christ and to the lost sheep, we must first accept the service of God.

Again it is said “A new commandment I give unto you, that ye love one another; as I have loved you that ye also love one another.” (John 13:34)  We desire Christ’s love but it is dependant upon His love for us! “We love him because he first loved us!” (1 John 4:19) Again and again we find what we are supposed to do is what Christ has already done for us.

Praise the Lord! He has already done it! We need not wait upon Him. All we need to do is accept what He has done. To be humble and let him wait upon us, to do for us, and shed grace upon us. We need only let Christ minister to us. Only then may we minister for Him.

I have taken too much upon myself. Even that in which I would do in service to God. And it becomes a burden to me. Yet what has Christ designed? “Come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest!” (Matthew 11:28) How simple it is.

Father, may I learn to give all things over to you that I may live as Christ has lived.

0 Responses to “To Be Served”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 814 other followers


