Archive for April 21st, 2009

21
Apr
09

Alien

It often seems had we lived in different times, under different circumstances, it would be easier to be a Christian. If I had been alive during the time of persecution, I would at least be able to know if I was fully committed. I would have to rely fully on Christ. But it seems in today’s America, it can be difficult. It is so easy to feel no need. And it easy to claim Christ without really meaning it. One could easily fool themselves into thinking they were with Christ, and yet apart from him.

But the thought occurred to me last night “Won’t heaven be a place of relative ease?” (Not that I fully understand life in heaven, nor that it’s ease will be similar to that I currently experience).  “. . . there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain . . .” Though now we feel we “have need of nothing,” in heaven we truly will be free of many needs, at least from an earthly perspective. So isn’t our relative life of ease the perfect time to learn to trust in God as we will trust in him in heaven?

In class yesterday, we learned of how the early church truly took to heart Philippians 4:20, “For our citizenship is in heaven . . . ” [NASB], living as immigrants in the world. So I wondered, how do immigrants in America live that might enlighten us on how we should live in a land of prosperity, with citizenship in heaven? The thought occurred to me how many do not invest in their lives here, wantonly accumulating things. Rather they send their money back home to support their family. Granted, for somewhat different reasons, we also are called to “Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth . . . But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven . . . For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” (Matt 6:19-21).

This has made me think a lot more about what I’m acquiring. I have in many ways freed myself from of lot of the trivial luxuries of life, but how does my money show what I’m placing my trust in? In what ways can I be sending every penny back home, so as to invest in the kingdom of heaven?




April 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 800 other subscribers