20
Nov
08

Reversing Hebbian Learning

Hebb’s law states:

When an axon of cell A is near enough to excite cell B and repeatedly or persistently takes part in firing it, some growth process or metabolic change takes place in one or both cells such that A’s efficiency, as one of the cells firing B, is increased

Essentially it says that one a neuron fires in the brain it is more likely in the future. So the more you do something the more you’re likely to do it. You form habbits. This is a big problem considering all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3.23). This is a question that has often bugged me. How can we change our own behavior? If our very mind drives us to act in certain ways, how can we preempt this behavior?

The simple answer is, we can’t. But there is good news. We can be free from sin. But we cannot do it on our own. But how can we overcome Hebb’s law, and stop be held by our past that has ingrained intself into the synapses of our brain?

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Instead of living for ourself, we can give up our will to that of Christ. To do this means denying self (Luke 9.23). We have to give up our own, imperfect will and hand everything over to Christ. This may seem scary, but it should not be. My will has never lead me to anything good. It has kept me in fear, speaking anger, and kept me from making decisions. Why would I want to keep this? Why would I not want Christ’s perfect will?

This is the most essential part of Christianity. If we are not submitted to Christ we cannot fully walk in his way. Sadly, it is something that has escaped me for much of my life. I have often, though believing I’m saved by faith, have tried to follow Christ by my own works. And sadly, it is something not understood by most Christians as far as I can tell.

I’ll post some resources here that speak to this issue in more depth, and with more eloquence. I hope if you have been struggling in your Christian walk that you consider fulling submitting your will to Christ.

0 Responses to “Reversing Hebbian Learning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 814 other followers


