30
Oct
08

Two ways of seeing something

It’s amazing how two people can see one thing so differently. I did a study with a student today. I could see they had a definite interest, and yet also seemed highly hesitant in ways. An eagerness that was frequently pushed down by putting their guard up. When I looked at this student I was considering how to encourage them not to be so guarded, and pursue their interest. In a sense, I was focusing on the obstacles. Andrea, who joined me for this study saw a candidate for baptism.

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” -Hebrews 11.1

I need to see things differently. Not to say planning to overcome problems is bad in itself, but there is a different way of looking at things. Instead of trying to plan to avoid problems, I could plan how to reach victories. In many ways the same thing is likely to result,  but the change of perspective can have a profound effect.

When I’m forever dealing with problems, I am dwelling on them. This can bring my spirits down, making the problems larger in both my eyes, and the eyes of the student. But if I instead look at the positive, start looking through the eyes of faith, it is my goal that I’m beholding. This is much better for my spirit which may help to avoid other problems. Further, when I look at the problems I end up solving problems, and then waiting for the next one to crop up so I can deal with it to. While looking at the goal gives a more proactive mindset, driving me to have smaller goals along the way, dealing with problems, but not waiting for them.

0 Responses to “Two ways of seeing something”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 658 other followers


