23
Sep
08

Forgetting to Remember

Something I struggle with is turning intents into reality. I may desire to form better habits, be more open and outgoing, but it doesn’t usually translate into reality. I purpose in my heart to do X, but when the moment arises habit takes over, and my plans only come to mind after the fact. In particular, of late I’m struggling to remember to prayer before certain activities I know that I should.

I’m convicted that I need to turn to God for guidance and protection more than I have, thanks in part to certain sisters, and recognition of my own helplessness. Yet, when the time comes, I just plunge in without. Today I even reminded myself I should pray before starting some work, but then when the time came to start, I forgot till long after I’d begun. So why did I forget?

I’ve noticed when I forget I’m usually in a rush. My first priority is just to get things done. So I need to realize that if I want to get things done, and do them well, that I need to first surrender the task to God. Other times I neglect prayer, simply because the task seems of little importance. I rarely pray before writing these entries. Yet if it’s something I write everyday and share with the world, shouldn’t I place a high importance on doing it well?

Everything we do, if we choose to do it, is important and should be done well. Every action we take, if our lives are to be a witness, should be treated as an opportunity to witness. Everything I do, I must surrender to God.

2 Responses to “Forgetting to Remember”


  1. 1 esunhae
    September 25, 2008 at 12:24 am

    “Certain sisters”? “Protection”?! Oh dear. We’ll try to be more gentle (I’m being honest).

  2. 2 rcmosher
    September 25, 2008 at 6:17 am

    I think you were plenty gentle. I don’t know if I conveyed it, but I’m grateful.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 814 other followers


